Well Hello There

So it’s been a hot minute since I sat down to write anything. I had to go back and see what the last thing I posted about even was. I’m still here, we’re just chugging along in life.

Winter was rough here because COVID cases kept the kids out of school much longer than we expected. My son’s basketball got cancelled as cases rose and indoor sports were no longer allowed. It was a relatively mild winter without a ton of snow so there were days that were nice enough to go to a park or on a walk in the woods, but there was still a lot of pent up kid energy in our house

We had to reschedule our Maui/Kauai trip that was supposed to be at the end of December to a Big Island trip in March. We were very wary about if we’d be able to go or not. We knew we would need to all have negative COVID tests in the days before we flew out and we would need another one at the airport in Kona when we arrived. I’m so happy to be able to say that it all worked out and we got to spend 12 days in our happy place with my parents and my in laws. The kids were in absolute heaven. It was the best mental health boost we have had since last summer. I know people have varying opinions on recreational travel right now. I’m not going to debate it, but I will say that we were very careful. The kids went to virtual learning before and after the trip so we could quarantine. Our area had really low case numbers at the time. We wore masks whenever we were around people outside our household. We had fully vaccinated and partially vaccinated members in our party. If I ever would have felt that we were exposing people to COVID or anything like that we wouldn’t have gone. I don’t want it to seem like we take COVID lightly, we don’t. We made our decision knowing that the chance of us spreading it would be almost zero. I don’t think it’s going anywhere anytime soon so we’re learning to navigate a new normal.

Since we’ve been back my son started spring soccer. My daughter has resumed her tap dance classes. They are back to in person school which they love. The weather is getting better so we can be outside more. We were so ready for spring and are definitely looking forward to summer.

As far as a surrogacy update…I’m enjoying the time off at the moment. I haven’t discussed a second journey with my last IFs any further since we talked before and after surro babe #2 was born last year. At that time we had talked about trying for a transfer in early 2022. I’m still going with that timeline, but will probably touch base with them about it in the next few months. We don’t really need to do much until late summer I don’t think. Hopefully things can be semi quick since we’ve done this together before.

Speaking of IFs and surro babe #2…they still keep in touch pretty frequently. They send pictures and tell me what they’ve been up to. I love seeing them all together enjoying life together. I’m probably biased, but their daughter is adorable and seems to love their travels and adventures. I can’t believe she’s 10 months old today! She’s going to be 1 before we know it!

I hear from my first IFs and surro babe #1 pretty often too. She is getting so big and will be 3 in Sept. I love hearing her little voice on the videos they send. She also seems to enjoy a good adventure and being outdoors. I’m so glad that they’ve decided to keep in touch. I hope someday that the hubs and I are able to make it over to where they live for a visit, it would be great to see them all in person again…plus I’ve always wanted to visit the UK!

Surro Babe #1 She’s so stinking cute!

So that’s what we’ve been up to. We have some camping trips scheduled this summer. I’m excited that people are getting vaccinated and am looking forward to my husband being able to get his shots soon. I had both of mine earlier this year. That will just make me feel more comfortable as he can sometimes have allergy or exercise induce asthma. I’m hoping that people continue to get vaccinated and maybe we can gain some small sense of normalcy. I’m want to have our big family get togethers again and hug people again…although I’m not gonna lie, I’m good with continuing the 6ft away from people, the ones I don’t know at least. I also wouldn’t hate if people wore masks when they’re sick during cold and flu season, but we all know that’s not going to happen.

It will probably be awhile before another update so I hope you all enjoy your spring/summer…unless you’re in the southern hemisphere, then I hope you enjoy your fall and that winter treats you kindly 🙂

Leave a comment